USC Football Team Awards Announced 2015

Adoree' Jackson showing his back. Photo by Jordon Kelly
Adoree' Jackson showing his back. Photo by Jordon Kelly
Adoree Jackson flying high on punt return. Photo by Jordon Kelly
USC Trojans Adoree Jackson flying high on punt return during Arkansas State vs USC at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on Sept 5th, 2015.( Photo by Jordon Kelly/fi360News)




LOS ANGELES–USC sophomore cornerback-wide receiver-returner Adoree’ Jackson was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2015 Pac-12 South Division champion and Holiday Bowl-bound Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Sunday (Dec. 13) at USC’s Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.


Jackson, an All-Pac-12 first teamer in 2015 and a finalist for the Hornung Award as the nation’s most versatile player, had 31 tackles and an interception for a TD on defense, 24 receptions with 2 touchdowns on offense and 23 punt returns for a 10.9 average with 2 TDs and 29 kickoff returns for a 22.9 average on special teams.

USC Linebacker Su'a Cravens on interceptions. Photo by Jordon Kelly
USC Linebacker Su’a Cravens on interceptions during Arkansas State vs USC at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on Sept 5th, 2015. (Photo by Jordon Kelly/fi360News)

Senior center Max Tuerk, who suffered a season-ending knee injury in the middle of the 2015 season, was named USC’s Most Inspirational Player.  Junior offensive tackle Zach Banner was USC’s Offensive Lineman of the Year, senior defensive tackles Antwaun Woods and Delvon Simmons were the Defensive Linemen of the Year, sophomore wide receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster was the Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year, junior outside linebacker Su’a Cravens repeated as the Defensive Perimeter Player of the Year and senior fullback Soma Vainuku was the Special Teams Player of the Year.  Senior quarterback Cody Kessler won the Trojan Way Leadership Award for the second consecutive year.

Nov 5: Stanford Cardinal quarterback Kevin Hogan (8) 2015 Football Championship at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara, Ca. (Photo by Jevone Moore/Full Image 360)
USC quarterback Kody Kessler (6) finding the end zone with his legs during 2015 Football Championship at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Ca. on Dec 5th, 2015. (Photo by Jevone Moore/Full Image 360)

A complete list of the 2015 awards:

Most Valuable Player:  cornerback-wide receiver-returner Adoree’ Jackson

Most Inspirational Player:  center Max Tuerk

Trojan Way Leadership Award:  quarterback Cody Kessler

Trojan Commitment Award:  tailback Tre Madden, fullback Jahleel Pinner

Linemen of the Year: offensive tackle Zach Banner (offense), defensive tackle Antwaun Woods, defensive tackle Delvon Simmons (defense)

Perimeter Players of the Year:  wide receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster (offense), outside linebacker Su’a Cravens (defense)

Special Teams Player of the Year: fullback Soma Vainuku

Service Team Players of the Year:  quarterback Sam Darnold (offense), outside linebacker Don Hill, inside linebacker Joel Foy (defense)

Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (year’s longest run):  tailback Ronald Jones II (74 yards vs. Arizona)

Player of the Game Vs. UCLA:  tailback Justin Davis

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement):  wide receiver Robby Kolanz

Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character):  quarterback Max Browne

John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit):  inside linebacker Cameron Smith

Joe Collins Walk-on Award:  inside linebacker Reuben Peters

Chris Carlisle Courage Award:  inside linebacker Lamar Dawson

Community Service Award:  safety John Plattenburg

Lifters Award:  fullback Soma Vainuku, tailback Tre Madden (offense), defensive tackle Cody Temple, outside linebacker Don Hill, defensive tackle Antwaun Woods (defense)

Captains:  quarterback Cody Kessler, center Max Tuerk, outside linebacker Su’a Cravens, defensive tackle Antwaun Woods, inside linebacker Anthony Sarao