Pac-12 is the all-time leader in men’s, women’s, and combined titles

SAN FRANCISCO – With WASHINGTON’s historic win at the 2017 NCAA Women’s Rowing Championships on Sunday morning, the Pac-12 became the first collegiate conference with 500 NCAA Championships.

On a history-making morning for the Pac-12, Washington women’s rowing claimed its fourth NCAA title by becoming the first team to sweep the three major races at the championships – the Fours, the Second Eights Grand Final and Eights Grand Final.

In the Conference’s 101-year history, Pac-12 schools have claimed 500 NCAA titles in 29 different sports with eight programs winning more than 20 NCAA titles in their history. The top-three universities with the most NCAA titles are from the Pac-12 with STANFORD (113), UCLA (113) and USC (104) as the only programs with at least 100. National championships have come in 29 different sports and is the leaders in titles in 14, including baseball, women’s volleyball, men’s and women’s tennis, and women’s swimming.

“I am immensely proud of the 500 NCAA Championships won by Pac-12 member schools, and more than that, I’m proud of what this milestone represents about our athletics programs,” said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott. “Pac-12 athletics departments set a standard of excellence across a broad base of men’s and women’s sports, and for more than 100 years, they have attracted the most talented and driven young people
in the nation.”

The Pac-12 has outdistanced all other conferences in total NCAA titles, winning nearly 200 more than the next-closest league (Big Ten – 307, based on current membership). Other conferences also do not come close to the number of men’s (297 vs. 215 – Big Ten), women’s (173 vs. 100 – SEC), and combined (30 vs. 21 – Big 12) NCAA titles of the next-closest conferences.

This year has been no exception with Pac-12 universities winning 12 NCAA titles so far, more than double the number of any other conference this season. Seven different Pac-12 universities have claimed NCAA Championships this season, including four by STANFORD, two by OREGON and USC, and ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, UTAH and WASHINGTON each winning one. The titles have come in 10 women’s sports, two men’s, and one combined sport (skiing).

It is the ninth time Pac-12 schools have won double-digit NCAA titles, leading the country in 51 of the last 57 years, including the 2016-17 campaign. In the last 36 years, Pac-12 members have won at least four women’s titles 28 times, including 10 this year. The Pac-12 has averaged just over nine NCAA titles per year since 1981-82, the first year the Association began sponsoring women’s sports.

The academic season is not over yet, with Pac-12 teams still vying for NCAA Championships in men’s golf, softball, men’s and women’s outdoor track & field, and baseball.