Luke Fickell American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year

American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year 2018

Cincinnati coach Luke Fickell on November 23, 2018 Photo by Austyn McFadden / fi360 News

Bearcats head coach Luke Fickell was named as Coach of the Year. Fickell was chosen by his peers as The American’s Coach of the Year after he orchestrated a six-win improvement in his second year on the Cincinnati sideline. After going 4-8 in his first year, Fickell has led the Bearcats to a 10-2 overall record, a 4-0 in mark in non-conference games and a 6-2 conference mark in 2018. The Bearcats returned to the national polls for the first time since 2013, ranking as high as No. 19 in the Nov. 11 Associated Press poll.

American Athletic Conference Coaches of the Year
2013            George O’Leary, UCF
2014            Justin Fuente, Memphis
2015            Tom Herman, Houston
                    Ken Niumatalolo, Navy
2016            Ken Niumatalolo, Navy
2017            Scott Frost, UCF
2018            Luke Fickell, Cincinnati